Tuesday, 23 August 2016

National Sports Awards – 2016

National Sports Awards – 2016

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sports Journalists/Experts/Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice S.K. Agarwal, Retired Delhi High Court Judge. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Ms. M.C. Mary Kom. Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Shri Rajiv Yadav, Secretary (Sports).

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons/ coaches/organizations:

(i) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016
S.No.Name of the awardeeDiscipline
1.Ms. P.V. SindhuBadminton
2.Ms. Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
3.Shri Jitu RaiShooting
4.Ms. Sakshi MalikWrestling

(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2016
S.No.Name of the awardeeDiscipline
1.Shri Nagapuri RameshAthletics
2.Shri Sagar Mal DhayalBoxing
3.Shri Raj Kumar SharmaCricket
4.Shri Bishweshwar NandiGymnastics
5.Shri S. Pradeep KumarSwimming (Lifetime)
6.Shri Mahabir SinghWrestling (Lifetime)

(iii) Arjuna Awards 2016
S.No.Name of the awardeeDiscipline
1.Shri Rajat ChauhanArchery
2.Ms. Lalita BabarAthletics
3.Shri Sourav KothariBilliards & Snooker
4.Shri Shiva ThapaBoxing
5.Shri Ajinkya RahaneCricket
6.Shri Subrata PaulFootball
7.Ms. RaniHockey
8.Shri Raghunath V.R.Hockey
9.Shri Gurpreet SinghShooting
10.Ms. Apurvi ChandelaShooting
11.Shri Soumyajit GhoshTable Tennis
12.Ms. VineshWrestling
13.Shri Amit KumarWrestling
14.Shri Sandeep Singh MannPara-Athletics
15.Shri Virender SinghWrestling (Deaf)

(iv) Dhyan Chand Award 2015
S.No.Name of the awardeeDiscipline
1.Ms. Satti GeethaAthletics
2.Shri Sylvanus Dung DungHockey
3.Shri Rajendra Pralhad ShelkeRowing

(v) Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2016
S.No.CategoryEntity recommended for Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar, 2016
1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent1.Hockey Citizen Group
2.Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club
3.Usha School of Athletics
2.Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibilityIndia Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited
3.Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measuresReserve Bank of India
4.Sports for DevelopmentSubroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society

(vi) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16

Punjabi University, Patiala
The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.


Flash News

2% Dearness Allowance to Central Government employees & Pensioners

2% Dearness Allowance 2% Dearness Allowance to Central Government employees & Pensioners Cabinet approves two percent Dearness...