Saturday, 5 January 2019

Types of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

Types of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

Ministry of Railways
Categories of Reservation Quotas in Indian Railways

With a view to cater to requirements of different categories of passengers served by Indian Railways, available reserved accommodation is distributed broadly under following types of reservation quotas:

1.GeneralGeneral Public
2.TatkalGeneral Public
3.Premium TatkalGeneral Public
4.Parliament HouseHon’ble Members of Parliament (Sitting and Former)
5.LadiesFemale passenger travelling alone or in a group of female passengers
6.Senior CitizenCombined quota for senior citizens, female passengers above 45 years & pregnant women
7.Foreign TouristForeigners
8.DefenceDefence Personnel
9.RoadsideGeneral Public
10.PooledGeneral Public
11.Cancer PatientCancer Patients
12.RAC(Reservation Against Cancellation)General Public
13.Physically HandicappedDivyangjan
14.Duty PassServing/retired Railway employees travelling on Duty/Privilege/Post retirement complimentary passes etc. in specified trains
15.Railway EmployeesDesignated Railway employees travelling on Duty in trains
16.YuvaUnemployed persons between the age of 15 & 45
17.EmergencyUrgent travel requirement of High Official Requisition (HOR) holders, Members of Parliament, and general public

While booking reserved tickets through the website of Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation(IRCTC), passengers can book tickets under General Quota, Ladies Quota, Foreign Tourist Quota, Premium Tatkal Quota, Tatkal Quota, Senior Citizen Quota, and Physically Handicapped (Divyangjan) Quota. In addition to the above quotas, accommodation can also be allotted under Reservation Against Cancellation(RAC) & Pooled Quota while booking reserved tickets through website of IRCTC. These reservation quotas constitute approximately 94% of total reserved accommodation available on Indian Railways, which can be booked both through internet as well as through computerised Passenger Reservation System (PRS) of Indian Railways.

To avoid any misuse, this facility is generally not extended for those quotas which require prior physical verification of documents. However, recently this facility has been extended to persons with disability, Press correspondents and Defence Personnel. Extension of such facilities to different categories of passengers is a continuous and ongoing exercise.

This information was given by the Minister of State of Railways, Shri Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.

Source: PIB

No comments:

Post a Comment

Flash News

DA Jan 2022 - Grant of Dearness Allowance to Central Government employees - Revised Rates effective from 01.01.2022

 3% DA Hike - Revised Rates effective from 01.01.2022: DoE OM dated 31.03.2022 No. 1/2/2022-E-II (B) Government of India Ministry of Finance...